Question Of The Day: Religion Who’s Right, Who’s Wrong?

20070828bizreligion_dm_500

So we all have our faith an no matter if your Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, Catholic, Mormon, or Seventhday Adventist you are what you are and believe 100% in what you believe in. So seeing it from that aspect somebody has to be wrong right? Thats the whole premise about faith it guides you in a direction and teaches you that the other avenues lead to nothing but a dead in. With that being said my question for all of you is whos wrong? Whos right?

You have some that are so engraved in their faith that they are willing to sacrifice their life at the drop of dime to do so. Its kind of hard to tell someone with a bomb strapped to they nuts “Hey young man, you fucking up.” On the flip side I dont know too many Christians who will go to those type of lengths for their faith. Yeah, we will praise him, go to church, every now an then pay some tides, thank him for awards but death? Doubt it…lol   

Thoughts? And dont take the easy route out by saying everybody has the right to believe in what they believe in either….lol

Show lighttttttttttttt

3 Responses to Question Of The Day: Religion Who’s Right, Who’s Wrong?

  1. tpolite says:

    au contraire sir. I would die for my faith. If someone held a gun to my head and said you will die if you don’t denounce Christianity, consider me DEAD. I’m not going out here killing people in the name of Jesus {though it has crossed my mind a few times…lol} but I believe that what’s ahead for me is greater than what I have on this earth, and I love my life :).

    I think that everyone is right and wrong at the same time. Most major religions have strong commonalities so we are right in the universal truths. I have great respect for concepts from other religions. I think there are things we can learn from each other. We are wrong because we have put our own bias and perceptions on beliefs. The world is ever changing, so things will have a different meaning today than they did 2000 years ago and 2000 years from now.

    I think the most important thing to take away from faith, without being biased towards others with my beliefs, is to grasp the major concepts of your beliefs and LIVE them. We spend too much time trying to dictate and impose our views on other people, rather than just live what we believe and let our LIGHT shine. Who am I to tell someone else that they are wrong? My life should be proof of the truth in what I believe. Your light is what ENLIGHTENS others. You don’t light a lamp and put it under a bowl. You put it on a stand, and it gives light to everyone…

  2. TFD says:

    Does anyone remember the story of the kids in the library at Columbine? One student was asked, at gunpoint, to denounce their faith. The student did no such thing and continued to recite The Lord’s Prayer. Consequently, they were killed. It’s scary to think that if faced with life or death, one would choose life…but deny the very maker of that life. The flesh of me would clearly tempt me to say: Alright, alright, Jesus is not my homeboy. HOWEVER, to continue to live a life in which I denied him…well, it just sets me up for failure when I do die and He DENIES me. So I would choose *eternal* life and take the temporary death for Him. However, I’m not about to glue no bomb to any part of my body and start screaming John 3:16 in the marketplace. No sir, no sir.
    Who’s right and who’s wrong? Well, I think T.Polite said it the best so I’ll just co-sign it all to the 100%. 🙂 Do not spend your time trying, with words, to convert someone. BE the change, BE the movement that you’d want them to be. They’ll see your life (and your religion) and want that for themselves. They will want to know where you received such joy and such peace that passes all understanding c)The Word…and you can calmly tell them Je-Je-Je-Jesus c) Mariah Carey’s Joy to the World.
    LOL.
    ~Katelyn

  3. SJD says:

    This post and the preceding comments touch on a subject that’s pretty personal to me.

    Firstly…Aww Katelyn, you had me til “BE the change, BE the movement that you’d want them to be. They’ll see your life (and your religion) and want that for themselves.” Speaking as someone of a different faith, I LOVE my religion. I think that it’s that attitude that a lot of people have towards their religions that leads to conflict. I don’t want to be Christian. I chose to be Muslim, even before most of my family, including my mother. Until more people can be more like T.polite and accept others as they are rather than hoping to passively or actively convert them, we won’t move forward. I can’t tell you how unbelievably infuriating it is to have someone try to convert you…*takes a deep breath*

    On to the main subject of the post, I agree with T.polite. There are many common themes/universal truths among the religions, particularly the big three Abrahamic traditions (Judaism, Christianity and Islam). Ideals like love, peace, justice and charity can be found throughout their texts.

    Personally, I don’t think God cares that much about which ideology you subscribe to. I mean seriously, with so many choices in the world and given the way people have used religion for their own ends throughout history (for example, the King James Bible was written by King James, a gay, catholic king of England), it’s entirely possible that everybody has it wrong because the exact right answer can no longer be found. What I think is more important is how you live your life and what you do with your time here. Oprah has done more good for more people than I will ever be able to, but she isn’t Muslim. I can’t imagine a just, all loving God sending her to hell for that. And I would think that it would be hard for Christians to imagine Ghandi and Malcolm X, two pious men that gave their lives for the cause of justice and equality, going to hell because they didn’t believe Jesus was God’s son, even though they lived and died by his principles…

Leave a Reply

